about me

Currently

Since mid-2007 I have been a full-time freelancer and work from my home office in Pinelands in Cape Town.
I also do contracts for various publishing companies in Cape Town.
I work on Apple Mac, using mostly InDesign and Photoshop.

Past Experience

My first taste of graphic design came when I was still in school. I landed a holiday job at Fair Lady magazine, working as right hand to the Art Director. She taught me about magazine layout, and back then we still used the cut and paste method, no computers!
In 1994 I worked for Women's Value magazine, where we moved over to computers, then I moved to a repro house where I learnt all about what goes on after the design process, and became Mac literate. I worked at Lewis Stores, in the art department, designing brochures and point of sale, and after that at Fairstep Pre-press Bureau.

Towards the end of 2000 I got back into magazines and started working at Touchline Media, first on Runner's World magazine, and then Golf Digest and Golf For Women. I was the sole designer on these publications, and responsible for the entire magazine each month, as well as all supplements and marketing material.

Past work accomplishments

• Won Designer of the Year in Touchline Media for 2006
• Won Best Cover in the Media24 Excellence awards
• Golf Digest won Best Division in Touchline Media 2006
• Golf Digest nominated runner-up in the category Best Sport Magazine – 2006 Picas
• Golf Digest won the silver medal in Media 24 Magazine Division of the Year for 2006.

Personal work achievements

Created “Player” magazine, “Life in Balance” newspaper, “Your Wedding Day” magazine, and a 400-page "Killarney" book from scratch.
More recently I have designed "Ironman SA", "Sani2C Mountain Bike", "Polo" and "Comrades" magazines from scratch, giving each their own look and identity.

Work ethics

I am a perfectionist, manage my time well, a fast worker, pay attention to detail, excel at what I do and never miss a deadline.

Personal

I love the outdoors, hiking, walking in the mountains and spending time with my husband, young son and two dogs.
I have an interest in Stone Age artefacts, fossils and crystals, and love travelling abroad.



 

Make a Free Website with Yola.